True Words

I found I could say things with color and shapes that I couldn’t say any other way–things I had no words for. – Georgia O’Keeffe

Georgia O’Keeffe has this really delicate and serene way of painting. Her work makes me think she had a lot of lovely things to say (except for all those animal skull paintings). I actually think some of the most important things she’s said were never proclaimed at all, at least not for others to see.

1 OKeeffe_From the Faraway Nearby_1937_MMA


The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Alfred Stieglitz Collection, Bequest of Georgia O’Keeffe, 1986.
© 2010 Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York. Photo courtesy of The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Georgia O’Keeffe (American, 1887–1986), From the Faraway, Nearby, 1937, Oil on canvas.

I honestly think some of the best things I’ve said have been painted on a canvas or doodled in my sketchbook. It could be said that I’m introspective, because really, I don’t say much except for all those unspoken stories displayed on my walls and in my heart.

Hidden, quiet words are so special and sacred to me. Most people will never know my true self, my true definition, my true words. I’m ok with them not knowing all of me because that is not my goal. Rather, my purpose is to exist and see beauty and be a sincerely thankful person. In thankfulness, I think as humans we understand what living means. Being truly inspired and at peace with every situation.

So how do I express thankfulness? Exactly how Georgia would, with colors, shapes and hope.

Leave a Reply

